Can Syncthing be totally private ?

Hi everyone

I am actually studying the availabilities to install Syncthing for my team. I read the doc and installed it in a lab environment and I noticed that Syncthing automatically send data to the relay if the source and the destination are in two different network, even if the network are routed and can be reached.

i.e. : Server= 10.0.0.1/24 ; PC= 10.0.1.1/24 icmp OK from Server to PC

If I disable relaying, data can’t synchronized anymore.

My question is : Could it work without relay ? Because we want to keep a hand on all our infrastructure and on our outgoing traffic.

Thank you

Yes it is, there is already lots of information on this around, look in the docs or search this forum. You can run your own relay and discovery server or allow connections (and broadcasts) between the subnets and configure the addresses explicitly (or use local discovery).

If Syncthing is able to establish a direct connection between the two machines (meaning that it is able to find the IP of the other machine (through local discovery using broadcast packets, a discovery server, or hard-coded IP addresses), and it is able to get through firewalls), then it will do so. Otherwise it will fall back to using relays.

My guess is that the local discovery packets aren’t being routed between your subnets, so Syncthing is unable to figure out the address of the other server. You could hard-code the device addresses, or run your own discovery server inside your network.

1 Like

In normal configuration, Syncthing will always connect to relays, as it cannot know, if other devices need them and will connect through them to it.