Can someone explain to me how "ignore deletes" is considered "dangerous"

I do not understand why “ignore deletes” is considered dangerous and so hidden and difficult.

I can’t think of a less dangerous thing in a sync tool. "Oh no my drive fills up because I turned on “ignore deletes” compared to “Oh no I accidentally deleted something and now it is deleted across every copt of it I had”

Please explain.

It was considered dangerous because it used to permanently corrupt the database. Nowadays, this isn’t the case anymore. The option still goes against the basic premise of Syncthing which is making two folders identical. It also causes confusion in the GUI, where the other side will always be marked out of sync.

The setting is indeed hidden in the Advanced Configuration, yes, but so is the case with many other settings that should only be touched by more experienced users.

1 Like

“should only be touched by more experienced users” Yes only advanced uses wouldn’t want to delete EVERY SINGLE COPY of a file due to a mistake. GENIUS. UNINSTALL

1 Like

I’m sorry but the purpose of Syncthing is two-way synchronisation in real time (meaning that both new additions, modifications, and deletions are synced). If you’re a looking for a backup piece of software, then this isn’t it.

That said, the built-in file versioning functionality can be used as a very simple type of backup, but you do need to enable it beforehand on a per folder basis.

4 Likes