Can I use synthing to distribute content like btsync?

Hi. I’ve been using btsync and I heard about syncthing as an opensource alternative. I’ve been using btsync to distribute some semi-static content by announcing my btsync key.

Is there a way to accomplish something similar with syncthing? I won’t know who are going to be sharing my contents (it could be hundreds/thousands of users) and I will be updating the content about once a month.

Or… is syncthing primarily a tool to share between a set of known hosts (more like a traditional Dropbox setup)?

Thank you!

The latter; syncthing won’t (currently) work for your use case.

Well, this is probably one of the most important issues and there are some things to consider and implement to make things easier and more compatible with other approaches.

I am just beginning to look at syncthing, so I don’t have much idea about it. But being able to sync based on a key (hash) of a share (top sync folder) seems like one of the most desirable things to implement.

Also, using regular torrents “under the hood” could probably help the whole thing greatly and make it more compatible with other existing approaches that are well developed by now and open source code is available.

Then come the issues of peer discovery via standard DHT protocol and using the standard uTorrent type trackers. This way, you can use hundreds of regular torrent tracker servers and, in combination with DHT, you become a part of the DHT global network and carry some DHT request traffic.

User configurable tracker list is highly desirable, if such is not implemented.

If regular and temporary torrents are utilized, like it is done in BTSync, then the whole thing greatly simplifies because there is a lot of open source quality code available in C++, Java and so on.

For example, here is the qBittorrent source:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/qbittorrent/files/qbittorrent/qbittorrent-3.1.9.2/qbittorrent-3.1.9.2.tar.gz/download