Best practices for directory structure

Hi All:

I’m new to Syncthing and trying to use it to replace Dropbox, Google Drive, and other public cloud sync services. I’m trying to figure out the best approach to setup my directory structure across devices so I don’t end up with recursive or circular directories being synced.

Basically, I have a work laptop, a personal laptop, and an Android phone. I’ve been using Dropbox for things like syncing my Todo.txt/done.txt in SimpleTask, syncing a password database, syncing my Joplin DB, etc.

I want my work files synced to my personal laptop, but not the other way around. My Todo.txt, password DB, and Joplin files should be on ALL devices (laptops and phone). I’d also like to sync all pics from my phone to my personal laptop.

I can’t really setup one big sync folder because then I’d end up with all my personal files on my work laptop as well.

Is it best to have separate folders for each thing (todo.txt, password DB, pics, work files, personal files, etc, and set them each up in Syncthing separately? Then I could have one main Sync folder that syncs across all devices so I could just drop stuff in there temporarily that I need to share.

So I guess I’m just looking for some suggestions or examples on how to setup my initial directory structure so I don’t have to fiddle with it later.

Thank you in advance!

-Dave

The nice thing with Syncthing is that you can share stuff at any location with just the devices you want (well not really on Android, if you use external SD cards, but that’s a special case). More or less you can organise your files/directories such as it fits your workflow best and than share just the parts you want with the required devices. That potentially means you need to use ignore patterns to exclude things you don’t want to share with work.

Thanks @imsodin! I was reading in the FAQ that you shouldn’t share a folder that’s inside another folder that is already being shared.