What's the difference between a sync conflict and a locally changed file?

We have sync conflicts pop up all the time, but we also have locally changed files. How do these differ from each other? Is a locally changed file something that happens when a conflict happens and you choose the version on your own machine instead of the newest version from another machine?

The two are very different. In short, conflicts appear when the same file has been modified on multiple devices simultaneously (see https://docs.syncthing.net/users/syncing.html#conflicting-changes). On the other hand, local changes appear if you modify something locally in a Receive Only folder (see https://docs.syncthing.net/users/foldertypes.html#receive-only-folder).

1 Like