Slow sync for large files - can it be sped up?

I’ve been using syncthing for about 8 months and I love it. It does a great job. Large folders with lots of files and subdirectories, no problem. Lots of folders being synchronized across a few devices, no problem.

But lately I’ve noticed that if the folder contains large files (like 6GB) then it slows down to a crawl. CPU usage is minimal, HDD r/w is minimal, and network throughput is minimal. I’ve read other posts and it seems to be related to the time taken for hashing the file blocks.

I’m mainly hoping for some advice here. The machine I’m using is powerful. It seems as if there’s one or a couple processes running and when it comes to these large files they take a while to do their thing. In the meantime, other smaller files start to queue up. Can I increase the number of processes somehow? Each folder is set as “Smallest first” but some folders seem to wait for other folders to finish.

The following screenshots might help to explain my problem and what’s going on. The AppdataBackup folder contains the large files and the Pictures folder has lots of smaller files but it seems as if the Pictures folder is waiting for the AppdataBackup folder.

Have you checked whether the devices have a direct connection, or is there a relay involved? The latter might limit throughput to way less than your own network connection could sustain.

No relay. All servers are connected through a VPN which is why global discovery is off.

Maybe if someone can help me to understand the architecture a bit. For example, does each folder get a process to handle that folder? When syncthing starts up it scans each folder but some folders say “Waiting”. I assume it’s because there’s a limit to how much it does at one time.