Selective sync selection

I’m attempting to switch over from Resilio Sync. However there’s a huge difference in the way that selective syncing works in Syncthing. In Syncthing I must specify the things I do and do not want using the .stignore file. I’m a developer and well aware of .gitignore so I understand all that, but it does not solve an important problem for me.

The .stignore system assumes that I already know a list of all the files at the other end (either in my head or by some other means) so that I can choose which to include and exclude using a pattern.

With Resilio Sync’s selective sync, I can see a list of what’s at the other and and choose what to sync using the user interface.

I can cope with manually editing the .stignore, even though that is inconvenient, but when I have literally 100000 files at the other end in a scattered set of directories, then the only option I have is to use a remote file browser or SSH to go there and then devise patterns to get what I want. That is very tricky when I’m in a railway station with only an Android phone in my hands.

Is there any way to get Syncthing to show me what’s at the other end without syncing it, so that I can “select” by editing .stignore?

I’m wondering if other users have come up with ways to do what I want.

Thanks!

(P.S. I already added my requirements to the “Next Gen Ignores” issue here https://github.com/syncthing/syncthing/issues/2491#issuecomment-425756915 but I’m looking for a workaround.)

1 Like