Selective download and placeholder files

Hi!

I don’t know if this is the right place for it. I thought about to post on GitHub Issue Tracker, but maybe it’s something which also concerns to common users, instead of just developers. And I don’t know how much of this is a problem to @kozec deal with on GTK. I’m sorry. I’m a designer, not a developer.

There’s some discussions about to selectively download the files in a folder. I think, specially considering the UX, that we could have a type of folder to just download placeholder files: on demand or on request folders. The files on this kind of folder should have faded icons. To try to open one of them triggers an event to download it. If some file disappears between scans, the placeholder appears again.

For this to work, we gonna need the GTK to add some things:

• delete on all nodes command on context menu, if there isn’t any folder master node;
  • download or download and sync command, depending on having or not any folder master node, on context menu;
  • to register a file extension on Windows and MIME types on Linux and Mac;

Implemented this way, an advanced Syncthing feature will be easy to be used by common users and it will help to increase its usage (and also make me and a lot of already users happier).

I don’t know how much of @calmh’s work is need to do this. Maybe, it’s more a work for @kozec. I don’t know…

Thanks for your attention!

3 Likes

I think this requires a lot of OS specific magic, and not all OS’es we support even have the magic you are talking about. If you are talking about pull files at the point they are touched.

You can already do selective sync by modifying .stignore, which works across all platforms.

OneDrive used to offer that, but currently I don’t think any existing syncing software provides this.

Thanks for your attention, @AudriusButkevicius.

I’m not talking about touch the files. You’re right. Windows doesn’t even have an easy way to do this.