Required to let syncthing client scan?

Hey all! I am new hear and new to syncthing in general, but I did a quick google and didn’t seem to see anything, as you would think, hard to specify search terms to narrow this down…

A bit of a weird use case for some background; I am an amateur photographer and share the passion with my father whose house I frequent, I built him a great photo editing workstation, thus all of my Lightroom catalogs and images are on that machine. Problem is, they also need to be on my computer at my aptartment… Recently I built a freenas box and am running syncthing in a windows VM (jail didn’t work, long story, windows permissions issues with chmod, although if there is a solution to this PLEASE LET ME KNOW), but I am using one of these folders simply as an always on sync target for both workstations to sync to. The files will never be directly edited on the freenas box. They are edited on local workstation ssd’s, synced with my freenas dataset, and then syncthing pushes changes to keep both systems mirrored.

Question is, since my VM is scanning 120k+ files with a total size of over 1TB, it’s a bit argues to say the least… (wish the jail option would have worked, SMB sharing this is pretty bad), but depending on the answer to this questions, it’s possible a lot of CPU cycles will be saved!

Since no files will ever be directly edited on the freenas directory and will only be pushed from another syncthing client, do I actually have to let the VM’s instance scan the dataset, or will syncthing inherently know the file structure based on the incoming syncs? I hope this is clear, but in short I am trying to negate the need to routinely scan the dataset from my VM’s instance. I am thinking since the data is only ever being changed by an externally pushed sync, the VM’s instance will get all of the updates it needs as it builds the synced file structure. Am I correct in this thinking?