# Option to disable the "override" button on a Folder (when out of sync)

**URL:** https://forum.syncthing.net/t/option-to-disable-the-override-button-on-a-folder-when-out-of-sync/26777
**Category:** Feature
**Created:** [June 3, 2026, 9:56am UTC](https://forum.syncthing.net/t/option-to-disable-the-override-button-on-a-folder-when-out-of-sync/26777 "2026-06-03T09:56:04Z")
**Posts on this page:** 1
**Showing post:** 3

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Vadorequest](https://forum.syncthing.net/user_avatar/forum.syncthing.net/vadorequest/32/17073_2.png) [@Vadorequest](https://forum.syncthing.net/u/Vadorequest)
#### Post date: [June 3, 2026, 10:42am UTC](https://forum.syncthing.net/t/option-to-disable-the-override-button-on-a-folder-when-out-of-sync/26777/3 "2026-06-03T10:42:17Z")

</div>

I guess, in that case I’d need to change the config to:

- Allow sync to happen both ways (instead of one-way)
- Use ignoreDelete on what plays the role of the server (“Bob” in the doc’s example)

This way, when the phone sync a file, it gets synced on the server, when the phone deletes a file, it gets deleted on the server, but when the server deletes or add a file, nothing happens on the phone.

Now, what would happen at the first sync? Because I typically don’t want the existing files to be copied from the server to the phone (as it centralizes multiple phones/devices).

That’s why one-way sync made more sense to me for this use-case. I’m not entirely sure the `ignoreDelete` will fix my issue.

---

_[View the full topic](https://forum.syncthing.net/t/option-to-disable-the-override-button-on-a-folder-when-out-of-sync/26777)._
