Learning syncthing?

I have two questions. First of all, I love syncthing, it has made my life tremendously easier and I’m sure I speak for many people. Looking back at what software or tools I used to do to keep files in sync was very painful. I would like to learn what it takes so I can contribute to this project in the future and make it even better. I am a programming noob, I know a little about navigating around linux internals in the terminal and that’s it. Which skills, languages, etc do I need to learn in order to contribute to syncthing.

Secondly I have this idea for syncthing. This is related to my first point, contributing, this is not a feature request, I have seen so many open source projects where people come in and say

“this text editor is great, could you please implement a bare metal hypervisor in it so I can edit my text files in the same app as running my virtual machine”

and the project maintainers go

“that’s a great idea, you should submit a pull request and we will submit your patches when you finish”

[radio silence]

So it’s just a showerthought. But do you think this is a good idea?