# 'default' folder and untrusted nodes

**URL:** https://forum.syncthing.net/t/default-folder-and-untrusted-nodes/3036
**Category:** Support
**Created:** [June 16, 2015, 7:35am UTC](https://forum.syncthing.net/t/default-folder-and-untrusted-nodes/3036 "2015-06-16T07:35:04Z")
**Posts on this page:** 3
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![techtonik](https://forum.syncthing.net/user_avatar/forum.syncthing.net/techtonik/32/580_2.png) [@techtonik](https://forum.syncthing.net/u/techtonik)
#### Post date: [June 16, 2015, 7:35am UTC](https://forum.syncthing.net/t/default-folder-and-untrusted-nodes/3036/1 "2015-06-16T07:35:04Z")

</div>

Is it possible to avoid sharing ‘default’ folder unless explicitly added on both sides? I noticed there is no ‘Ignore’ button, only ‘Later’ in sharing prompt that appears when I add new device.

Or should I just sync default folder with everybody and don’t store anything important there?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![calmh](https://forum.syncthing.net/user_avatar/forum.syncthing.net/calmh/32/15311_2.png) [@calmh](https://forum.syncthing.net/u/calmh)
#### Post date: [June 16, 2015, 8:22am UTC](https://forum.syncthing.net/t/default-folder-and-untrusted-nodes/3036/2 "2015-06-16T08:22:32Z")

</div>

The `default` folder, like any other folder, is _not_ shared unless explicitly added on both sides. You get the prompt on one side because you explicitly added it on the other.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![system](https://forum-uploads.syncthingcdn.net/original/2X/0/0b50e0a202b22ae6a67190759e8c868805b8ed9f.png) [@system](https://forum.syncthing.net/u/system)
#### Post date: [May 12, 2017, 12:58pm UTC](https://forum.syncthing.net/t/default-folder-and-untrusted-nodes/3036/3 "2017-05-12T12:58:58Z")

</div>


