Cascade Delete Question ON Resetup

Hi,

I have been using Syncthing for several years and when I first started using it I saw something that explained that cascade deletes are something to watch out for.

Since then I have only really setup new machines and fresh setups, until recently.

I have one machine that had some issues. Long story short I am now sitting with all the data folders but a fresh default syncthing config/install.

My Question

Are there any risks adding a folder from my central network Syncthing device and pointing the local to the existing folder that should have all the same content so as to avoid a long network re-sync?

And does it matter/change things if the original .stfolder exist?

Thanks.

That’s exactly what you can do, however I would suggest setting the folder type to Receive Only initially, just to be extra safe.

1 Like

Thank you, it worked exactly as expected. With no data loss.

There is never a circumstance where you should be creating .stfolder by hand.

It’s safer to remove the folder and re-add it back (and let syncthing create it) than it is to create that file by hand.

This topic was automatically closed 30 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.