8k+ ldb files, crashing in browser and scanning issues.

Hello Syncthing community,

I’ve been using Syncthing for ~4 months now, my filesystem contains ~10TB of data. Syncthing was working great, but has become extremely sluggish and unreliable as of late. My servers should be more than capable of handling anything Syncthing throws at it – 16 core / 32 thread xeon, 32gb RAM, OS on SSD, data on 15TB RAID-5.

1. The browser client crashes all the time. I’m not entirely sure why, but it appears to be correlated to the amount of data Syncthing is managing. It will slowly start consuming large amounts of RAM (up to 4gb for one window) and then crash and free up the RAM. Not sure if there’s a memory leak or what’s happening.
  2. Eventually Syncthing will completely crash and continue to crash shortly after subsequent load attempts. This appears to be correlated to the number of LDB files I have. I’ve tried removing the DB files and re-scanning from scratch. What I noticed is that Syncthing generates a massive number of LDB (*.ldb) files. My server has upwords of 8,000 (was 15,000 before DB reset) that have persisted immediately after the 10TB of data was scanned. This amounts to about 16-30gb of LDB files.
  3. Both locations I’m syncing are experiencing the same problems even though they are on different operating systems (one latest Ubuntu, other Win-10). Both have crashing issues in the browser and an extremely large number of LDB files.
  4. Probably unrelated, but possibly not, scanning seems to be bugged. I tend to pause the folders as to minimize read/write head movement during my Scans. However, when I unpause it appears to resume my current scan and start a new scan, effectively creating two instances of scan against the same folder at the same time. I’ve noticed that the JavaScript will switch between each scan in the progress bar. To resolve this, I pause all folders, restart Syncthing then unpause them one at a time.